Health and Social Care

Hospitality - BTEC

What will I learn?

The course aims to give students a practical introduction to the Hospitality industry. The course consists of four units: two core units, one mandatory and one optional unit.

Core units:

  • Introducing the Hospitality Industry (Externally assessed examined unit).
  • Working in the hospitality industry (Internally assessed).

Mandatory units:

  • Food Safety and Health and Safety in Hospitality. 

Optional units

  • Planning, preparing, cooking and finishing food.

How is the course graded?

One unit is externally assessed through an exam, the rest of the units are coursework based. All units are graded as Pass, Merit or Distinction.

What is next for me after this course?

Employment opportunities - following completion of the BTEC Diploma in Hospitality and Catering, successful candidates could be able to enter initial employment in the hospitality industry. Further vocational and academic qualifications - the achievement of the BTEC Diploma has the equivalence of four GCSEs graded A*-C. If you achieve an overall pass grade or better in the BTEC First Certificate in Hospitality and Catering, it is possible for you to progress further to a BTEC Diploma in Hospitality and Catering.