Information Technology - BTEC

What will I learn?

This qualification is designed for learners who are interested in a basic introduction into the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses. The course is equivalent to an A level.

What skills do I need?

This course builds on knowledge you have gained throughout Year 10 and 11 in GCSE computer science. To succeed in this course you will need: planning and organisational skills, time keeping, good attendance, to be able to work independently.

How is the course graded?

The course consists of 4 units, 3 of which are mandatory and 2 externally assessed.

The mandatory units are:

  • Unit 1 - Information and Technology Systems – assessed by external written exam.
  • Unit 2 - Creating Systems to Manage Information – externally assessed case study to be completed within a certain time period.
  • Unit 3 - Using Social Media in Business – internally assessed coursework carried out throughout the year.

The optional units are:

  • Unit 5 - Data Modelling – internally assessed coursework carried out throughout the year.
  • Unit 6 - Website Development - internally assessed coursework carried out throughout the year.

What is next for me after this course?

Employment - with the international recognition of BTEC courses such as this, you could progress straight into employment. If successful there are a wide variety of potential careers that you can explore, within sectors such as the growing computer games industry, software development, technical support, technical sales, telecommunications and hardware engineering. Jobs that are commonly taken after completion of the qualification are: IT product developer, computer games designer and systems analyst.