Close
Bedlington Academy term times

Term dates, school times and key dates

School day timings 

 

Monday - Thursday

Period

Time

8.45 am

Students must be in school (warning bell will sound)

8:50am - 9:10am

Morning registration / assembly

9:10am-10:10am

Period 1

10:10am-11:10am

Period 2

11:10am-11:25am

Break

11:25am-12:25pm

Period 3

12:25pm-1:00pm

Lunchtime

1:00pm-2:00pm

Period 4

2:00pm-3:00pm

Period 5

3:00pm

End of school day

 

Friday

Period

Time

8.45 am

Students must be in school (warning bell will sound)

8:50am - 9:35am

PHSE

9:35am – 10:30 am

Period 1

10:30 am – 11:25 am

Period 2

11:25 am – 11:40 am

Break

11:40 am – 12:35 pm

Period 3

12:35pm – 1:10 pm

Lunchtime

1:10 pm – 2:05 pm

Period 4

2:05 pm – 3:00 pm

Period 5

3:00pm

End of school day

2021/22 Term dates

Autumn Term 2021

Starts

Ends

Half term

Tuesday 7 September 2021

Friday 17 December 2021

Monday 25 October – Friday 29 October 2021 (1 week)

Christmas break:  Monday 20 December – Tuesday 4 January 2022 (2 weeks)

 

Spring Term 2022

Starts

Ends

Half term

Wednesday 5 January 2022

Friday 8 April 2022 

Monday 21 February – Friday 25 February 2022 (1 week)

Easter break:  Monday 11 April – Friday 22 April 2022 (2 weeks)

 

Summer Term 2022

Starts

Ends

Half term

Monday 25 April 2022

Thursday 21 July 2022

Monday 30 May – Friday 3 June 2022 (1 week)

Summer break:  Monday 25 July to Friday 2 September 2022 (7 weeks)

The Academy will also be closed for training purposes on the following days:

  • Monday 6 September 2021
  • Monday 25 October 2021
  • Friday 26 November 2021
  • Monday 20 December 2021
  • Tuesday 4 January 2022

Holidays and absences in term time

New government regulations have made it clear that a school or academy may not grant any leave of absence from school during term time unless there are exceptional circumstances. Our duty is to ensure all students have complete access to the education provided and we ask for parental support to ensure this happens.

This means:

  • A parent does not have the right to take a child out of school for a holiday or absence in term time.
  • The school will refuse an application for absence unless parents can demonstrate and prove there are exceptional circumstances relating to the request.
  • Absence from Bedlington Academy for any reason has a significant effect on learning and is proven to reduce student grades.
  • If a holiday or an absence is taken when permission has not been granted, it will be recorded as an unauthorised absence (truancy) and noted on the student’s record of achievement. The information will be sent to Northumberland County Council who will consider whether a fine should be issued. 
  • If a student already has poor attendance and an unauthorised absence is taken, the information may be sent to Northumberland County Council Attendance Enforcement Team who will consider legal proceedings at a magistrate’s court.